2017 · Life: Help I'm Alive

On in-betweens, part two

Hey, so here’s a fun game for all the freelancing boys and girls to play – how long can you be between projects without seriously considering a career change, even though you got work lined up? My current record is apparently two days because I’m already starting to consider getting a Real Job that pays real money even though I know it would be a huge mistake and I’d hate it immediately.

I can’t remember if I’ve talked about this before, but I recently had a realisation that if I didn’t draw for a living, I wouldn’t draw at all and that’s probably why it’s never really worked out for me as an employee. I love the hustle, I really really do, but I love the hustle more when I have four or five different things to juggle. Right now my to do list starts on single digits every morning and the work stuff is currently as follows:

  • Write script for that thing.
  • Write pitch for that other thing.
  • Wait for info on the third thing.
  • Write on personal projects.

And that’s it, just writing and pitching, no grinding out pages or illustrations or at least nothing with a deadline. I should use this time to  haul ass, make some stuff for the portfolio, get further on my personal stuff, find a 3D modelling program I can use like I’ve talked about for literally years but noo here I am, stuck in indecision central. It’s frustrating and I know the only thing I can do about it is to do something but that’s easier said than done. It doesn’t help that the boyfriend has been home from work the last two days and will continue to be so all of next week because he’s on vacation. Also doesn’t help that I’m in a stupid conflict with my cousin over money he owes me and I just want him to pay up so I don’t have to deal with it, for fuck sake.

What does help is that I’m nearly broke and need to get some extra money this month so I can take the cat to the vet for a check-up. Hopefully that’ll set a fire under my ass. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

