2017 · Life: Rica Meets World

On being proud

The plan was to blog throughout the weekend, but like always with good intentions I was too sleepy and comfortable to go through with it. So, here’s a few catch-up posts. Some of them I even plotted out on the day I intended for them to go up.

Saturday was the end of Pride Week here in Stockholm. Originally I had planned to walk in the parade, but after all the moving and working and readjusting and mild identity crisis I’ve had going for me this year, I decided to cool it and just watch and give it another go next year, which also happens to be the year we’re hosting the EuroPride? So maybe my timing is pretty great, accidentally.

We watched the parade, or parts of it, and I don’t think I’ve ever felt such a conflicting set of emotions during Pride as I did this year. My heart swelled with these are my people in a way I haven’t felt before, possibly because this is the first year I’m out and proud Queer with a capital Q. There was also a persistent feeling of not belonging and I can’t quite figure out if it’s the queer community in itself that’s putting me there (being bi and non-binary, I’m not exactly a poster child) or just the usual sense of never belonging in any sort of group regardless of what that group represents. Either way, emotional day ending with báhn mì at the local mall because it literally rained on our parade.

🇸🇪🏳️‍🌈✨✊✨🏳️‍🌈🇸🇪

A post shared by Rica (@captain_mallard) on

Leave a Reply

