2017 · Life: Mind Palace

On general updates, part one

Part one because I’d like to do these little chatty things from time to time, even though I’ll probably forget that I’ve done them before and name it something else. Oh well.

Things are terrifying and busy for me these days. I’m making some professional changes, mostly by narrowing down my social media presence to stuff I’m actually interested in rather than stuff I feel like I “should be” doing. I’m finishing up my first big story over at Filthy Figments, which feels weird and scary, but I also have a ton of pitches lined up to follow it so I’m not too worried. I’ve also taken time out in the morning to write on my webcomic finally – I averaged 1500 words a day and then I moved suddenly, which killed any sort of momentum I’d gained. Getting back into it though, which feels great, and it’s more solid than it was before.

Socially, I have some stuff lined up too. My cousin is getting married in less than two weeks, so I’m emotionally preparing for being stuck in a room full of strangers for eight hours, as well as navigating the weirdness of having done hired work for family members. Don’t do this, by the way. It’s awkward and weird and although I know he’s good for it, I’m dreading sending the invoice.

This weekend I mostly chilled with the boy, reading a book about crime in the 17th century while he replayed Assassin’s Creed Unity. This naturally meant that I geeked out way too much about sanculottes and other little historical details they’d laced the game with. We also went out to a falafel place he’d been eying since before we got together, I think. It did not disappoint. I had a limonana which is maybe the most refreshing thing I’ve ever put in my mouth, and they had a börek salad that I kind of regret not ordering even though it feels weird to not buy falafel when you go to a place specifically for falafel.

A post shared by Rica (@captain_mallard) on

 

It’s gearing up to be another hot day and I still have 50 things on my to do list, so I think this is it for me. What are you up to lately, readers? Anything fun?

Leave a Reply

