2017 · Internet: Look at this

On Scrooge McDuck

When I was a kid, I has a subscription to a weekly Donald Duck comic floppy. That, along with Tintin and Asterix to a lesser degree, was how my love for comics began and it was never clearer than during those blessed weeks when there was a Don Rosa comic waiting for me. That was pure joy, especially when they started in on a longer serialisation and I knew that for the next four, six, maybe even eight weeks I’d get to disappear in the artwork of Don Rosa. He was my hero and one of the people to blame for my current career choice. Sure, I liked Marco Rota just fine (what 8 year old knows the names of the different Donald Duck artists?) but there was something magical about those rich environments, his sense of humor and the stories that often bordered on dark but was always firmly rooted in humanity.

As far as people I’ve never met go, Don Rosa was probably the one who influenced me the most so it’s no wonder that I had a good cry this morning when I found this Kickstarter for a duckumentary about the life and times of Scrooge McDuck.  Especially what Mr Rosa had to say about the comic making life:

This is what I’ve been dreaming of doing my whole life, I guess. I figured if I could just barely squeak by doing Uncle Scrooge comics, at the end of the year I probably wouldn’t have any money left but those stories I created that year always exists, would exist forever… and that seems like something worth living for.

Tears. Actual tears. I have a lump in my throat right now just typing that out.

In other duck related news, the trailer for the new Ducktales dropped and let me tell you, I am here for this. Don’t @ me.

Leave a Reply

