2017 · Life: The Freelancer Lifestyle

On idea debt

I’ve been growing increasingly bummed out over the last week or so, and while I originally had a lot more to talk about regarding this subject I’m going to keep it to a link and a brief description for now. Chances are good I’ll come back and elaborate later – I think about this stuff a lot.

This article was written last year by Jessica Abel and you know what, it really hit home. Idea debt is a real thing and I think I’ve been swamped by it for the last fifteen years – being a comic artist means that everything you do takes a ridiculously long time and while you do it you’ll come up with new time consuming things that you’ll work on as soon as you’re done with this thing. It’s not great. If you’re doing any sort of creative work, professionally or as a hobby, you should read that article. It might help you clear out some old stuff you’ll never get around doing.

Leave a Reply

