2017 · Games: It's-a me Mario

On cooperation

I’ve been out with a cold for a couple of days so we’re back to catch-up territory. Luckily it seems like I was spared from anything too severe this time around (I usually come down with three weeks worth of death rattles) and spending a couple of days lounging on the couch has done me good as I am absolutely brimming with excess energy now.

That’s not what I’m here to talk about today, though. A while back I wrote about the game Don’t Starve, a cute and somewhat disturbing survival game that proved to be a great stress relief in a time of extreme stress. I’ve since upped my record to 21 days and added the Reign of Giants and Shipwrecked DLCs to my account – as well as the multiplayer version Don’t Starve Together.

Let me tell you, if you think Don’t Starve is too stressful, playing it with friends makes it so much better. It’s also a great exercise in strategy and communication, since every character has their own weaknesses and strengths and you really do need to work together to get anything done around here. I’ve only played a couple of sessions with my bestie so far, but I have a feeling it’ll be even more fun if you add more players into the mix. For instance, we took out eight Hounds between the two of us compared to the one Hound I can usually manage when I play solo. Some things really are better with friends.

Also, I don’t think I’ve shared this fan made live action trailer for Don’t Starve before so here you go. Some spoilers, so be warned.

Leave a Reply

