2017 · Life: The Freelancer Lifestyle

On budgeting

Being a freelancer means I never know how much money I’m actually going to have at any given point in time. Some gigs pay regularly, some all at once months after I finished the job, and others give me a couple of bucks for food when I need it the most but not with the regularity required for me to actually rely on it. It’s exciting, my parents ran their own company too so having a steady income or savings isn’t really something I’m used to. I don’t mind the hustle, most days. I do mind the hustle when I’m in dire need of a lot of money fast.

I don’t really have a huge point to this point other than that it’s really important to know your finances, especially if you don’t earn a lot or all that regularly. I’m not talking about stocks or investments (what are those?) but simple things like planning for regular expenses and upcoming costs so you know how much money you need at a minimum. Prioritising is important too — what do you need right now to last another month and what can wait until later, even if it’s important? I need new glasses right now but it’s not a big enough problem for me to set aside money that could pay for a new external hard drive. I see fine, but losing all the work I’ve done over the last four years because of a hard drive crash is worse than temporary eye strain.

The last month or so has been weird for me because of the move and also running through deadline after deadline, but as things are stabilizing I need to start looking at my money again. Taxes gotta be paid, savings gotta be made, I need to make the most of this wonderful opportunity I have right now. It’s scary, but it’s gotta be done!

How are you with money? Do you save? Invest? Or are you living paycheck to paycheck, like I am right now?

Leave a Reply

