2017 · Games: It's-a me Mario

On wasting half an hour

When I was younger, I used to play video games all day long. Growing up, I still really want to do that but most days I simply don’t have the time for the big sprawling epic adventures that I do want to play and this is where Steam and little indie puzzle games come in. I love games where I can sit for 15 minutes, solve a puzzle, feel good about myself and then go on with my day without feeling like I want to spend a few more hours in the world (hello, Stardew Valley).

I’ve got two games to recommend for you right now. The first is Mandagon, a gorgeous pixel game inspired by Tibetan philosophy. It’s a pretty quick play, I finished it in about 40 minutes and I’m not that great at puzzle games so you could probably do better.

header

The second game I discovered just the other day, and I’m about halfway through it right now. It’s called Missing Translation and is a straight up logic puzzle game with really pleasant music and pretty cool graphics. The puzzles themselves are just difficult enough to be a challenge (at least on the later levels) without being completely impossible, though I have to admit that it gets repetitive after awhile when you’re working on the same set. Definitely a game that benefits from short bursts of play, something for your lunch hour, perhaps?

header1

Both of these games are available for free on Steam, though I highly recommend donating a couple of bucks if you like them. Indie game makers deserve all the support they can get.

Do you have any simple and short games you like to play? Let me know in the comments!

4 thoughts on “On wasting half an hour

      1. Yep, I can agree with that completely. I’m actually really happy that Nintendo is reaching out to a lot of great indie devs as well, just cause it means I can have these experiences on the go.

        That said, do you share your writing on any other sites? I work over at Creators .Co (we’re part of Now Loading) and this is the sort of content that makes for an interesting read. Would you be open to the idea of crossposting your work on our Creators fansite or sharing you wordpress posts with the users in our Facebook group? My e-mail and more info can be found on my page if you’ve got any questions.

        Like

Leave a Reply

