2017 · Games: you can't crit with us

On rolling for initiative

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m about to join my first real table top DnD group. It’s a bit nerve wracking, partially because I’ve had some shitty experiences in the past but also because I actually don’t know half the people I’m about to play with. Add to that a weird and mostly unfounded aversion towards improvisation theatre and I’m sure you can see why I’m a little concerned about this. That said, our DM is pretty amazing so far. We had a skype session today in preparation, a session that I thought would mostly be saying hi, him giving me a run down of the world and me telling him what I’ve thought of so far. Quick, twenty minute conversation, that’s it.

That wasn’t it. We talked for an hour and a half and aside from preparing spells for my first actual game session, everything is set and ready. I’m still reeling from how easy it was, how supportive and genuinely excited he sounded about my character and how she’d fit into the game. I got to set out all my stats and he advised me on how to do it in a way that won’t get me killed (a level one Cleric with 9 hit points isn’t going to last long either way). I got to roll for a ~mysterious trinket~ and he already had some cool ideas for how to add my character to the party.

That’s all I’m going to talk about for right now. Rest assured that I’ll probably talk a ridiculous amount about this campaign as we actually get started, because it’s some really cool story telling and I’m more invested in this character than I ever expected. Sometimes, taking a little bit of initiative can really make you grow as a person.

Leave a Reply

