2017 · Life: Help I'm Alive

On packing your bags and moving away, part four

Yeeah I think we’re just going to have to accept that I won’t actually blog every day on the day until this move is finished, because I had every intention of writing something last night and then totally zoned out on it. As long as the post count matches the days passed, I’m happy. Hopefully it can be more consistent when I’m no longer living in a storage unit*.

One of the weirdest things about this experience so far is that since I’m moving into a fully furnished place where another person already lives, I have to get rid of a lot of stuff. Like, most of my stuff. The boxes I’m packing for storage is 90% books with a few stray boxes of knick-knacks and kitchenware that I’m keeping just in case I don’t end up staying at the new place for very long. All the furniture has to go, but since I’m still living here for another couple of weeks, the furniture that has to go is also the furniture I’m currently using. It feels almost dishonest to clean up the couch, take a few flattering pictures and then wrap it up in blankets so I have someplace to sit that isn’t my office chair. It’s not like the couch is new or even in pristine condition, I’ve had it for several years, but is it okay to still put my fully clothed butt on it when it’s about to go to someone else, hopefully?

I just want to be done with this already, is what I’m saying. It’s exhausting.

*I don’t actually live in a storage unit.

Leave a Reply

