2017 · Life: Mind Palace

On packing your bags and moving away, part one

And so, ten days into the year, I failed my New Years resolution but that’s okay because life is a continuous attempt, not a pass/fail test. I will write two posts today to make up for it though, because that’s the kind of person I am.

I missed out yesterday for a good reason, at least. As I’ve probably mentioned a few times before I’m in the middle of moving out of the apartment I’ve lived in since 2005 and yesterday was the first of many Intense Packing Days. I’ve sorted and packed away most of my books by now which is, I kid you not, making up at least half of everything I own. It’s exhausting and since I’m the kind of person who can’t stop doing something once I’ve started, my everything is very sore right now. Some good progress has been made and I can go back to, uh. Working 12 hours a day instead. Yeah, life is pretty hectic right now.

It’s kind of nice in a way to have to move this suddenly and into a much smaller space. It’s easy to become complacent and I was perfectly happy staying in this apartment for the foreseeable future, so being forcibly ejected (they’re renovating the entire building, I haven’t done a bad) feels like the universe is giving me a swift kick in the butt. It’s time. So much has happened while I lived in this apartment and on one hand it’s really sad to leave it but on the other, wow. So much has happened. It’s time for things to happen someplace else.

I’ll most definitely write more on this as I slowly descend into madness over the next month and a half. For now, I’m going to write one more post and then settle in with some tea and draw Pokémon.

Leave a Reply

