2017 · Life: promises promises

On beginnings

I have a tendency to switch between having no New Year’s Resolutions and having way too many that I keep for about fifteen minutes. The last few years though I decided to try something else and give myself New Year’s Aspirations. There’s less pressure that way, I feel, to have something to strive towards that won’t drown me in guilt if I skip out for a day or a week or even a month. 2015 I promised to apply to more things, and got my first two acceptances into comic anthologies, plus an ongoing gig for Filthy Figments. In 2016 I promised to apply to everything and that resulted in being accepted into four anthologies and several art books. Seems like a change in attitude can really do more than promising to do push ups every day.

2017 is going to be a year of change for me. I’m moving out of the apartment where I’ve lived for the past decade, away from the area where I grew up into someplace a lot less familiar. I need to get rid of most of my belongings, either for good or put them up in storage for who knows how long. Things will be different next year and I intend to make them good. This year I have a few resolutions, some a variation of old ones like how I’m still going to apply to everything I possibly can but also other things like how I want to draw more, especially original stuff. I want to read more than I do, and watch new things rather than reruns of Friends just because it’s familiar and comfortable. I want to challenge myself, try to make some money and build up a nest egg for the first time in a long time. I want to try harder and work smarter. I want to be brave. I want to get another tattoo and, if money allows it, join a gym. I know a lot of this probably won’t happen because life is hard and unpredictable but I’m content in knowing that I’ll try and any attempt will bring however small a change with it.

The only solid, concrete, absolute New Year’s Aspiration I have is that I want to write more, so for the next 365 days I’m going to post something to this blog. It may be a longer introspective post like this or a hot take on a movie I’ve watched or short fiction or talking about work or maybe just a youtube video that I thought was funny. It doesn’t matter as long as I post something for every day of 2017, for myself rather than for an imaginary audience that makes me feel like I need to try to be clever and end up being pretentious instead. (Though if anyone is reading, please say hi! I’d love to know if I’m writing for anyone else but me).

Let’s check back on this post a year from now and see what kind of person I’ve become.

Leave a Reply

